TIFF became an annual festival beginning this year. The festival received congratulatory messages from Harrison Ford, a guest at the 1st festival, Catherine Deneuve, appearing in one of the films chosen for the Special Screening section, and Gerald Depardieu, appearing in the closing film.
A new program for this festival was the Tokyo Film Market held with the cooperation of THE FOREIGN FILM IMPORTER-DISTRIBUTOR ASSOCIATION OF JAPAN, allowing TIFF to contribute to the welfare of the industry as a whole.
White Badge directed by Chung Ji-young won the Tokyo Grand Prix this year, reflecting the increasing role that films from the Republic of Korea play in world cinema. In addition, on the 30th anniversary of her death, Marilyn Monroe was remembered through an interview and photographs taken by George Barris just prior to her death.







1. Actor Vincent Pérez talks with Director Nagisa Oshima at a party. 2. Director Joji Matsuoka (right) and star Michitaka Tsutsui at a screening of Twinkle. 3. Cast members from the opening film Heavenly Sin. From left: actors Noriyuki Higashiyama, Toshiyuki Nishida, Hiroki Matsukata and actress Sayuri Yoshinaga. 4. Maggie Cheung (right) and Leung Ka-fai, starring in Actress, which had an extra screening due to popular demand. 5. President of Competition Jury Richard D. Zanuck celebrates the opening of the festival. 6. Director Takashi Ishii and actor Masatoshi Nagase from Original Sin at the press conference.


International Competition Total number of applications: 236 films from 42 countries / regions

Tokyo Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

White Badge / Director: Chung Ji-young

Special Jury Prize

About Love, Tokyo / Director: Mitsuo Yanagimachi

Best Director Award

Chung Ji-young / White Badge

Best Actress Award

Lumi Cavazos / Like Water for Chocolate

Best Actor Award

Max Von Sydow / The Silent Touch

Best Artistic Contribution Award

Directors of Photography: Emmanuel Lubeski & Steve Bernstein / Like Water for Chocolate

Best Screenplay Award

Helmut Dietl & Ulrich Limmer / Schtonk

Young Cinema Competition Total number of applications: 226 films from 43 countries / regions

Tokyo Gold Prize - The Governor of Tokyo Award

Cows(Vacas) / Director: Julio Medem

Tokyo Silver Prize

The Peach Blossom Land / Director: Stan Lai

Tokyo Bronze Prize

Bob Roberts / Director: Tim Robbins


International Competition

President of the Jury

Richard D. Zanuck (Producer)


Christopher Lee (Actor)

John Hora (Director of Photography)

Kim Soo-yong (Director)

Christopher Lambert (Actor)

Marcel Martin (Honorary President of the International Federation of Film Critics)

Keiko Kishi (Actress)

Young Cinema Competition

President of the Jury

Kees Kasander (Producer)


Anne Brochet (Actress)

Craig Bolotin (Screenplay writer / Director)

Harry Hook (Director / Screenplay writer)

Kenji Takama (Director of Photography)

page top