The 19th TIFF was held together with TIFFCOM, a film market which promotes Japanese content overseas and AKIHABARA-ENTA MATSURI which was held in Akihabara, the heart of animation, games, cartoons and character goods.
Works by directors Shohei Imamura, Kon Ichikawa and Seijun Suzuki were featured, providing opportunities to review the progress of masters of the Japanese film industry. In addition, the Cinema Vibration was held, focusing on the relationship between music and films. Films connected to music were screened, and a live performance was given at Roppongi Hills Arena as a closing event. A new project to nurture film critics was also started. Critiques of the films screened in the Competition section were invited for awards.








1. From right: writer James Bradley (author of "Flags of Our Fathers"), with actors Jesse Bradford, Adam Beach, the opening screening of Flags of Our Fathers. 2. Composer Ludovic Bource (left), actress Aure Atika, and director Michel Hazanavicius at a screening of their Tokyo Sakura Grand Prix winner OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies. Who knew that Hazanavicius would go on to win a Best Picture Oscar for The Artist six years later? 3. Filmmaker Yamada Yoji, jury chairman for the Akira Kurosawa Award (which he himself received in 2004). 4. Director Darren Aronofsky (left) and producer Eric Watson attend a screening of The Fountain. 5. Actor Kengo Kora (left) won a Special Award in the Japanese Eyes section for his performance in M, directed by Ryuichi Hiroki. See page 106 for a discussion between Kora and director Yoshihiro Fukagawa. 6. The Winds of Asia section's focus on the Malaysian New Wave caused a sensation. From left: director Yasmin Ahmad, who had four of her films screened including the world premiere of Mukshin, Rain Dogs director Ho Yuhang, and actor-musician Pete Teo. 7. Director Kon Ichikawa (left) at the closing screening of Murder of the Inugami Clan with TIFF chairman Tsuguhiko Kadokawa. Ichikawa was also chosen as the recipient of that year's Akira Kurosawa Award.


Competition Total number of applications: 614 films from 66 countries / regions

Tokyo Sakura Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

OSS 117, Cairo Nest of Spies / Director: Michel Hazanavicius

Special Jury Prize

Thirteen Princess Trees / Director: Lu Yue

Best Director Award

Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris / Little Miss Sunshine

Best Actress Award

Abigail Breslin / Little Miss Sunshine

Best Actor Award

Roy Dupuis / The Rocket

Best Artistic Contribution Award

After This Our Exile / Director: Patrick Tam

Audience Award

Little Miss Sunshine / Director: Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris

Winds of Asia

Best Asian Film Award

After This Our Exile / Director: Patrick Tam

Japanese Eyes

Best Picture Award

The Cats of Mirikitani / Director: Linda Hattendorf

Special Award

Actor: Kengo Kora / M

Akira Kurosawa Award

Akira Kurosawa Award

Director: Milos Forman

Akira Kurosawa Award

Director: Kon Ichikawa



President of the Jury

Jean-Pierre Jeunet (Director)


Youki Kudoh (Actress)

William M. Mechanic (Producer)

Marco Muller (Producer / Director of the Venice International Film Festival)

Garin Nugroho (Director)

Mitsuo Yanagimachi (Director)

Winds of Asia Asian Film Award


Koyo Udagawa (Film Critic)

Tetsuaki Matsue (Director)

Mitsue Hashimoto (Chief Editor, ASIAN POPS)

Japanese Eyes


Hiroo Otaka (Journalist)

Tsuzuse Inagaki (Film Critic)

Mark Schiling (Journalist

Akira Kurosawa Award

President of the Jury

Yukichi Shinada (Film Critic)


Yoji Yamada (Director)

Kazuko Kurosawa (Costume Designer)

Masato Hara (TIFF Asistant to the Chairman)

Tsuguhiko Kadokawa (TIFF Chairman)

page top