Films have the power to bring dreams and inspiration and reach deep into people's hearts. They are the supreme form of cultural art. The mission of TIFF is to seek out and present the finest films from the world. Under the slogan of "Believe! The power of Films," the 24th TIFF offered a variety of exciting premiere films. Through the power of films, interactive exchanges, and information dissemination, we hope to make the TIFF a world-class event.
The 24th edition of TIFF implemented the TIFF ARIGATO Project in response to the Great East Japan Earthquake. As part of the project, we ran a charity drive to support screening activities in stricken areas. We also held special screenings at MOVIX Sendai on October 25, concurrently with the TIFF, inviting Sendai residents.
Other new initiatives, such as student discount tickets, Student Supporters, TIFF BOYS, and a collaboration project with off-site parties, were launched in order to bring the younger generation into the TIFF circle.










1. Frederick Wiseman, director of Crazy Horse. 2. Chinese actress Fan Bingbing, who served as a juror for the International Competition. 3. Jackie Chan (center), star and general director of special opening film 1911, with Japanese actress Makiko Esumi (left) and celebrity fan Shoko Nakagawa. 4. From left: director Giddens and actors Michelle Chen and Ko Chen-tung attend the Winds of Asia-Middle East screening of their film You Are the Apple of My Eye, which was a huge hit in its home country of Taiwan. 5. At an evening reception for festival guests. From left: Winds of Asia-Middle East juror Koji Fukada, When Pigs Have Wings director Sylvain Estibal, actress and producer Kiki Sugino, Exhalation director Edmund Yeo, and When Pigs Have Wings actress Myriam Tekaïa. 6. Cast and crew members from The Three Musketeers at the official opening screening. From left: producer Martin Moszkowicz, Gabriella Wilde, Logan Lerman and Milla Jovovich, and director Paul W.S. Anderson. 7. Cast and crew members from Kora, which won an Award for Best Artistic Contribution. From left: actress Li Tao, director Du Jiayi, actor Chang Shu-hao, and producer Nina Han. 8. Michael Winterbottom, director of Competition film Trishna, reunites with composer Shigeru Umebayashi at the screening. 9. Actors Shun Oguri (left) and Koji Yakusho with director Shuichi Okita, whose The Woodsman and the Rain won the Special Jury Prize.


Competition Total number of applications: 975 films from 76 countries / regions

Tokyo Sakura Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

Untouchable / Director: Eric Toledano & Olivier Nakache

Special Jury Prize

The Woodsman and the Rain / Director:Shuichi Okita

Best Director Award

Ruben Östlund / Play

Best Actress Award

Glenn Close / Albert Nobbs

Best Actor Award

François Cluzet / Untouchable

Best Actor Award

Omar Sy / Untouchable

Best Artistic Contribution Award

Kora / Director:Du Jiayi

Best Artistic Contribution Award

Detachment / Director:Tony Kaye

Audience Award

When Pigs Have Wings / Director: Sylvain Estibal

TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix

TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix

The Mirror Never Lies / Director: Kamila Andini

Special Jury Prize

Happy People: A Year in the Taiga / Director: Werner Herzog & Dmitry Vasyukov

Winds of Asia - Middle East

Best Asian-Middle Eastern Film Award

Trespassers / Director: Jeffrey Jeturian

Special Mention

The Mirror Never Lies / Director: Kamila Andini

Special Mention

TATSUMI / Director: Eric Khoo

Special Mention

The Robot / Director: S. Shankar

Japanese Eyes

Best Picture Award

About the Pink Sky / Director: Keiichi Kobayashi



President of the Jury

Edward R. Pressman (Film Producer)


Kees Kasander(Film Producer)

Fan Bingbing (Actress)

Masahiro Kobayashi(Director)

Reiko Kruk (Special Effects Makeup Artist)

Winds of Asia-Middle East Best Asian-Middle Eastern Film Award


Philip Cheah (Film Criticr)

Koji Fukada (Film Director)

Harumi Nakayama (Cinema Journalist)

Japanese Eyes


Hiroshi Kashiwabara(Screenplay Writer/President, Writers Association of Japan)

Kyoichiro Murayama (Film Critic)

Genki Kawamura(Film Producer)

TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix


Yukichi Shinada (Film Critic, Professor Emeritus of Tama Art University)

Koko Niwa (Sustainability Activistl)

Tom Yoda (Chairman, Tokyo International Film Festival (TIFF & TIFFCOM))

page top