Guests to the opening ceremonies of this year's TIFF included Harrison Ford and Leonardo DiCaprio. A special tribute program focused on Marcello Mastroianni, who died the previous year.
For the Nippon Cinema Classics program, coordinator Sadao Yamane presented the results of a search, conducted in Russia, for Japanese films and gave the premiere screenings of four rediscovered Japanese films. Beginning this festival, Asian Film Week was renamed "Cinema Prism" and the scope of coverage and the number of films shown was expanded while still maintaining its Asian focus.
Earlier in the year, Shohei Imamura's The Eel received the Palme d'Or at Cannes while Naomi Kawase's Moe no Suzaku won the Camera d'Or, auspicious news for Japanese film industry members.








1.,Star Harrison Ford (center) and director Wolfgang Petersen (right), along with Seiko Matsuda at the opening screening of Air Force One. 2. Director Ann Hui (left) and lead actress Wu Chienlien at the press conference after the screening of Eighteen Springs. 3. Two winners of Tokyo Grand-prix: director Ademir Kenović of Perfect Circle, and director Caroline Link (center) and producer Jakob Claussen of Beyond Silence. 4. From right, Best Actor Award winner Koji Yakusho, director Kiyoshi Kurosawa and co-star Masato Hagiwara from Cure. 5. Krzysztof Zanussi, director of Competition film Our God’s Brother. 6. Director Abbas Kiarostami (left) and Robert Kramer attend the screening of documentary Locarno Half a Century: Thoughts about the Future. 7. The world premiere of Titanic. From right: director James Cameron and star Leonard DiCaprio.


International Competition Total number of applications: 317 films from 50 countries / regions

Tokyo Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

The Perfect Circle / Director: Ademir Kenović

Tokyo Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

Beyond Silence / Director: Caroline Link

Special Jury Prize

Brassed Off / Director: Mark Herman

Best Director Award

Ademir Kenović / The Perfect Circle

Best Screenplay Award

Caroline Link & Beth Serlin / Beyond Silence

Best Actress Award

Rene Liu / Murmur of Youth

Best Actress Award

Tseng Jing / Murmur of Youth

Best Actor Award

Koji Yakusho / CURE

Best Artistic Contribution Award

Skirt Power / Director: Adama Drabo /Director of Photography: Lionel Cousin

Special Award for his Lifetime Achievements

Director: Manoel de Oliveira / Journey to the Beginning of the World

Young Cinema Competition Total number of applications: 290 films from 43 countries / regions

Tokyo Gold Prize - The Governor of Tokyo Award

The Traveller from the South / Director: Parviz Shahbazi

Tokyo Silver Prize

Junk Mail / Director: Pal Sletaune

Tokyo Bronze Prize

Eye of God / Director: Tim Blake Nelson

Asian Film Award

Timeless Bottomless Bad Movie / Director: Jang Sun-woo


International Competition

President of the Jury

Saul Zaentz (Producer)


Inna Tchourikova (Actress)

Barbara Sukowa (Actress)

Abbas Kiarostami (Director)

Kinji Fukasaku (Director)

Young Cinema Competition

President of the Jury

Youssef Chahine (Director / Producer)


Mamata Shankar (Actress)

Max Tessier (Film Critic)

Aki Kaurismäki (Director)

Komaki Kurihara (Actress)

page top