The 29th Tokyo International Film Festival took place at Roppongi Hills and Ex Theater Roppongi as main venues to screen major sections. On the red carpet of the opening, Meryl Streep for Florence Foster Jenkins appeared. There was a blissful moment where the great actress in a chic dress with a design of a crane received a warm welcome from the Festival Muse, Haru Kuroki, who dressed up in a long-sleeved kimono also with the design of cranes.
Youth section was newly added, aiming to introduce films recommended for children and teens. As part of the collaboration between the Japan Foundation Asia Center and TIFF in CROSSCUT ASIA section a series of Indonesian films were screened and an omnibus film production Asian Three-Fold Mirror 2016: Reflections had its world premiere.
Furthermore, special focuses featuring director Shunji Iwai (Japan Now section) and director Mamoru Hosoda (Anime Focus), and Special Night Event at Kabukiza Theatre, Kabuki performance and screening of Blood$B!G(Bs Up at Takata-no-Baba with Ichiro Furutachi as guest benshi narrator, were filled with excitement.
Jean-Jacques Beineix who had participated in the 3rd edition of the festival held a presidency of competition jury, and Paolo Ballesteros, a drag impersonator known for his Hollywood actress look-alike makeup, won the award for Best Actor for the film Die Beautiful. Open-air cinema and TIFF ANI!!, a special event featuring Japanese animations turned out to be a great success, too.
At the award ceremony of the Asia-Pacific Producer Network held during the festival period, Japanese actor Tadanobu Asano, actress Nanami Sakuraba, and director Isao Yukisada received an award for their contributions to the film industry.


1. Leading actress Helen Mirren and director Simon Curtis of the Special Screenings film WOMAN IN GOLD. 2. Leading actress and producer Hilary Swank from the Special Screenings You're Not You. 3. From the left, actresses Ai Hashimoto, Yuko Takeuchi and director Yoshihiro Nakamura of Competition film The Inerasable. 4. Leading actor and actress Kenichi Matsuyama and Keiko Kitagawa from the Panorama section screening film Something Like Something Like It. 5. From the left, director Taketoshi Sado,KASHIYUKA, a-chan and NOCCHi of Perfume from the Panorama section film WE ARE Perfume -WORLD TOUR 3rd DOCUMENT. 6. From the left, director Tetsuo Shinohara, actors Koichi Sato and Tsubasa Honda of Closing film TERMINAL. 7. From the left, director Hideo Nakata, actors Rika Adachi, Haruka Shimazaki and Keita Machida of Ghost Theater, Don't Look Up screened at "Masters of J-Horror". 8. Legends appear on stage at Special Animation Program "THE WORLD OF GUNDAM". From the left, voice actors Toru Furuya and Megumi Han, singer GACKT, director Yoshiyuki Tomino, Yoshikazu Yasuhiko, mecanic designer Kunio Okawara and voice actor Shuichi Ikeda. 9. Director Masato Harada and actress Kirin Kiki at the screening of Chronicle of My Mother in Japan Now section Director's Showcase "Director in Focus: Masato Harada". 10. From the left, director Kohei Oguri, actors Jo Odagiri, Miki Nakatani andproducer Claudie Ossard at the Competition film FOUJITA. 11. Director Robert Zemeckis from the Opening film The Walk. 12. Actress Sayuri Yoshinaga and director director Keishi Otomo who came to congratulate directors Yoji Yamada and John Woo (2nd and 3rd from left) at the $B!H(BSAMURAI AWARD$B!I(B Ceremony. 13. Japanese Classics RAN [4K Digitally Restored Version]; From the left leading roles Tatsuya Nakadai, Mieko Harada, costume designer Emi Wada, production manager Teruyo Nogami and assistant director Vittorio Dalle Ore. 14. Winners of $B!H(BARIGATO (Thank you )Award$B!I(B; form the left, Akihiro Hino(LEVEL- Inc. president and CEO), actors Suzu Hirose, Kirin Kiki and Lily Franky,director Mamoru Hosoda.


Competition Application total number is 1,502 entries from 98 countries/regions

Tokyo Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

The Bloom of Yesterday [ Die Blumen von Gestern ](Director : Chris Kraus)

Special Jury Prize

Sami Blood [ Sameblod ](Director : Amanda Kernell)

Award for Best Director

Hana Jušić (Quit Staring at My Plate [ Ne gledaj mi u pijat ])

Award for Best Actress

Lene Cecilia Sparrok(Sami Blood [ Sameblod ])

Award for Best Actor

Paolo Ballesteros(Die Beautiful)

Award for Best Artistic Contribution

Mr. No Problem [ 不成问题的问题 ](Director : Mei Feng)

WOWOW Viewer's Choice Award

The Bloom of Yesterday [ Die Blumen von Gestern ](Director : Chris Kraus)

The Audience Award

Die Beautiful(Director : Jun Robles Lana)

Asian Future

Best Asian Future Film Award

Birdshot(Director : Mikhail Red)

The Spirit of Asia Award by the Japan Foundation Asia Center

Alankrita Shrivastava( Lipstick Under My Burkha )

Japanese Cinema Splash

Best Picture Award

POOLSIDEMAN [ プールサイドマン ](Director : Hirobumi Watanabe)



Martin Scorsese


Kiyoshi Kurosawa



Makoto Shinkai


Mitsuki Takahata


Satoshi Tsumabuki





President of the Jury

Jean-Jacques Beineix(Director / Writer / Producer)


Mabel Cheung(Director)

Valerio Mastandrea(Actor)

Nicole Rocklin(Producer)

Hideyuki Hirayama(Director)

Asian Future Best Asian Future Film Award


Choi Yong-bae(Festival Director, Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival)

Giovanna Fulvi(International Programmer, Toronto International Film Festival)

Ryosuke Hashiguchi(Writer / Director)

The Spirit of Asia Award


Philip Cheah(Film Critic)

Masamichi Matsumoto(Director, Cinémathèque)

Japanese Cinema Splash Best Picture Award


Mark Adams(Artistic Director, Edinburgh International Film Festival)

Koji Fukada(Director)

Karel Och(Artistic Director, Karlovy Vary International Film Festival)

page top