Akira Kurosawa, whose film Ran opened the 1st TIFF, died on September 6. A special memorial program was quickly prepared for Nippon Cinema Classics upon this news, showing all 30 films directed by Kurosawa. TIFF received messages from Theo Angelopoulos, George Lucas, Abbas Kiarostami, Martin Scorsese, Nikita Mikhalkov, and other prominent directors from around the world.
The film critic Nagaharu Yodogawa who was instrumental in supporting not only TIFF but also the Japanese cinema as a whole, and director Keisuke Kinoshita, passed away this year.
The renowned Japanese actor Toshiro Mifune passed away the previous year.




1. Brad Pitt attends the closing screening of Meet Joe Black. 2. Press conference for Wait and See. From left: director Shinji Somai, actress Shiho Fujimura, actress Yuki Saito, actor Koichi Sato and actress Sumiko Fuji. 3. Crew and cast members from Armageddon at the opening screening. From left: Ben Affleck, Liv Tyler, director Michael Bay. Fifth from left: Bruce Willis, Jerry Bruckheimer and his wife.


Competition Total number of applications: 513 films from 45 countries / regions

Tokyo Grand Prix - The Governor of Tokyo Award

Open Your Eyes / Director: Alejandro Amenábar

Special Jury Prize

Leaf on a Pillow / Director: Garin Nugroho

Best Director Award

Guy Ritchie / Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels

Best Actress Award

Maki Miyamoto / The Geisha House

Best Actor Award

Brad Renfro / Apt Pupil

Best Artistic Contribution Award

The Red Violin / Director: François Girard

Best Artistic Contribution Award

Smoke Signals / Director: Chris Eyre

Tokyo Gold - The Governor of Tokyo Award

Spring in My Hometown / Director: Lee Kwang-mo

Tokyo Silver Prize

The Small Town / Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Asian Film Award

Asian Film Award

Dance of Dust / Director: Abolfazl Jalili

Special Mention

Qualified to Live / Director: Kiyoshi Kurosawa

Special Mention

The Adopted Son / Director: Aktan Abdikalikov



President of the Jury

Jeremy Thomas (Producer / Director)


Idrissa Ouedraogo (Director)

Ademir Kenović (Director)

Liu Xiao-qing (Actress / Producer)

Noboru Akiyama (Film Critic)

Asian Film Award

President of the Jury

Tadao Sato (Film Critic)


Keiko Araki (PiaFilm Festival Director)

Takefumi Tsutsui (Film Critic)

Koji Enokido (Director)

Kazuyuki Yano (Director of Yamagata Documentary Film Festival)

page top